ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Ready to hit the wickets Team India!

Team India for 2019 World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is the momentous event announced as the international championship of One Day International cricket. It is organised every four years by the sport’s governing body, designated as international cricket council (ICC). It begins with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to finals tournament  charged with extreme excitement that which team will end up holding the most esteemed cup. The tournament is regarded the “flagship event of the international cricket calendar” by the ICC as it is one of the world’s most viewed sporting events. The first World Cup was held in England in June 1975 and a separate Women’s Cricket World Cup had been held two years before the first men’s tournament. England holds the venue for first 3 world cups. A total of twenty teams have participated in the eleven editions of the tournament, with fourteen competing in 2015; the next latest edition in 2019 will have only ten teams. Australia has won the trophy five times, with the West Indies, India (twice each), Pakistan and Sri Lanka (once each). ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 draws eyes from every little sphere across the globe. The cricket rivals, the country songs, the flags and the colossal audience makes it so astonishing to wait and watch for the event to kick start as soon as possible.


The trophy for the world cup was designed in London by a creative team of craftsmen from Garrard & Co over a period of two months. Current, the trophy is made from silver and gilt that hallmarks a golden globe held up high by three silver columns. The columns represent the three fundamental aspects of cricket: batting, bowling and fielding, while the globe signifies a cricket ball. The seam is tilted to depict the axial tilt of the Earth. It is 60 centimeters high and weighs approximately 11 kilograms. The names of the winners till date are engraved on the bottom of the trophy, with a total space for twenty inscriptions. A replica differentiating slightly in the inscriptions is permanently awarded to the winning team while ICC keeps the original one.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to start from May 30 with host England set to exchange blows with South Africa in the tournament opener. Team India will turn hands against South Africa on June 5 and the arch-rival Pakistan on June 16. Unlike past, this time the World Cup will be played in a round-robin format similar to the one used in the 1992 World Cup, which means that all the participating nations will lock horns against each other. Team India has always worked hard to get the ball in their court. Let us know the shining names of all Indian players who are set to contribute for the pride of the nation.

Indian cricket squads

The 15-man squad is an expert combination of six batsman, four all-rounders, and five bowlers.

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami.

The probable anticipation for the No. 4 position – Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant were taken off from the 15-man World Cup squad. Dinesh Karthik will take the charge over Pant as the team’s second wicketkeeper. The chairman of selectors MSK Prasad made it clear that the second wicket-keeper will only get a chance to play in case Mahendra Singh Dhoni sustains an injury. Keeping this in thought, the selection committee decided to replace Karthik over Pant as the former’s glove work had proven to be smart in crucial encounters.

The side will be led by Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. The batting unit will lead by the skipper himself and he will be assisted by Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rohit, and MS Dhoni. In the bowling unit, the team has unanimously agreed for three seamers instead of four. That being the case, it makes the role of Hardik Pandya and Vijay Shankar more decisive as one out of the two will have to come forward as the fourth seamer.

All the best Indian cricket team! May you bring the glory of the nation and give us all prodigious chance to celebrate. Good luck! See you soon on the stadium with screaming cheers. The hearts across the world have started pounding to sit and watch vacantly the ICC world cup 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here